Records of travel – John Lennon

When travelling dirt poor in the United States a number of years ago I stumbled across a garage sale in the backstreets of San Francisco.

I was drawn to a box of records and quickly scooped up about three or four. They were the names of musicians my father had listened to and my lack of music knowledge of what lay in front of me made me lean on memories of car trips with my dad and long conversations about his youth.

With what little money I had, seriously I was down to $70 with a week of travel ahead of me, I spent five US dollars on a bunch of records I’d never listened to.

It’s been almost five years since that trip and even though I took the effort to cart those records across the world with me and on several house moves, until tonight I’ve never listened to one or two.

With the acquisition of a record player that I’ve named ‘baby’, I’ve finally gotten around to listening to a few and the only regret I have is that I didn’t make the effort earlier.

The first from my USA travels record stash is Mind Games by John Lennon. I knew the title track and one other but it’s Bring On the Lucie (Freda Peeple) that has me feeling good. And I know what you’re probably all thinking, ‘this narcissistic lady likes the song because her name is in the track’, but I swear that’s not the reason this track is the bees knees. Have a listen for yourself –

This entry was posted in General blah blah, music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Records of travel – John Lennon

  1. One of the better songs on the album, along with the title track, Out the Blue and Aisumasen.

Leave a Reply

