Mofo – my top three.

Working at a music festival means you very rarely see the acts you had hoped to and often discover music you love.

Working Mofo festival was exactly this. As a driver for the festival I clocked something close to sixty hours of driving in 5.5 days and spent a lot of time sitting on my butt, behind the wheel of an 8-seater van, transferring musicians to and from their gigs.  Clocking up an immense amount of hours at a festival makes you really appreciate the moments you have to immerse yourself in the festival experience.

In those moments I discovered artists I have never listened to , that I now love.

Here are my top three:

100% my number one discovery was Kate Tempest.

This woman is a fireball of energy, she shakes and rhymes like Janis Joplin but delivers a 21st century point of view in everything she does. Her British accent frames her message perfectly.

Next: Mirel Wagner.

Damn, I drove Mirel around before I even thought to listen to her music. I’m kicking myself that I didn’t have the time to drop by and see her live, but if her pre-recorded stuff is anything to go by then I know I’ll be at the next gig.

The Flaming Lips.

Truth: I’d never listened to the Flaming Lips till I saw Wayne stick his head through a bunch of tinsel streamers and throw an inflatable ‘Fuck Yeah, Hobart’ sign into the audience. Every moment of the concert was mint. They’re mint. And they’re amazing live.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in General blah blah, music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

