New year….new me?

Maybe it was the crisp white sand or the fresh tan that’s left me peeling. Maybe it’s the prospect of having to find a new job or that I moved house. Or maybe it’s because I turned 25? I’m not too sure, but something feels different about 2014.

I started the year with friends on a property in the country, listening to some old funk and blues, lighting up my personal space with a very effective (and cheap) flashing stick procured from some two dollar store. Holly and I danced in little circles, caught up in the music but not caught up enough to ignore our frozen toes. We talked about our friendship, knowing people for a long time, the future, the past and occasionally commented on a particular song or line that caught our attention. We talked about New Years resolutions, thoughts and fears that you can only share with a good friend or friends.

It was a great way to start the New Year and fitted nicely with my resolve to get back to basics, re-learn what I love and go with what feels right. The next day I jumped on my motorbike and took a familiar route through my home town, past my school and along the road that I traversed on a dodgy old school bus for the better part of eight years. I swept around corner after corner, each one seemed full of memories. I carefully navigated around a bend where a school mates brother lost control of  his own bike and had to have a limb amputated and past the house where so many years ago Holly, Justine and I had watched a helicopter land when we took a break during a 40 kilometre walk to snack on Cheezels.

As I reached the end of the road it started to rain quite heavily and by the time I made it to my parents house the wind and rain had taken the foolhardy courage out of me. I swapped my little motorbike for my parents four wheels and made my way back home. It’s been over a month now and I’m yet to return to Yea for my bike.

January has flown by, I ended the month on Scarborough beach in Perth with a friend who had just accepted a  twelve month contact to work in Canberra. She is excited but understandably feeling a little daunted at the prospect of moving to a city renowned for quiet nights and politics. We discussed the pros and cons of accepting such an offer and my own employment predicament. I shudder to think how dire my employment situation had seemed a mere eleven months earlier and how life has turned around. How the confidence I have gained has completely changed my perception of my own limitations and ability in the workplace.

Perth is a beautiful place to contemplate big decisions. We spent the majority of our time on the beach, cooking, camping and conversing. It didn’t seem that strange to wake up at 6.30 am to go for a stroll along the beach. We explored Kings Park, which is like an Australian take on Central Park, and had the choice of several beaches which were reasonably vacated due to the plethora of choices available. Good food at good prices was a little difficult to source and the Little Creatures restaurant seems like a hype, but culture is alive in Perth if you know where to look.

On Australia Day my friends and I dominated a little lookout atop a cliff, streamed the Triple J Hottest 100 countdown, cracked open a few ciders and snacked on a picnic of delicious food.

A couple of days later Maree and I caught a red-eye flight back to Melbourne. We landed at 7.00 am and I found myself back in the office at 9.30 am. My eyes felt hot with exhaustion, but I was feeling energised from time spent in the sun and managed to make it till 5.30 pm before I hit the proverbial wall.

As you may have noticed, I’ve updated the layout of my blog. The old design was starting to feel a little stale and out of tune with the shift in feeling. You can still find all of the random stuff I used to post and the various categories, they are located just next to the display picture of my five-year old noggin’.

I’ll try to source some pictures of my little trip to Perth, such as the one where I decided to buy a fur coat in 35 degree weather and rock it with my bathers.

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

