Permanently bad ideas.

A friend recently mentioned that they were keen to get another tattoo and, being the impulsive person I am, I said that I would happily go along and get a tattoo at the same time.

The idea of getting more ink has inadvertently resulted in a walk down memory lane and I can’t help but think about all of the shitty shitty tattoo ideas I’ve had over the years which, due to a lack of money and some common sense, thankfully never came into existence.

So for anyone that is interested, here is a list of things that I never had the chance to regret.

1. The outline of a diamond

In my high school years I went through a stage where I thought the phrase ‘a diamond in the rough’ was deeper than the ocean. This phase lasted for…a while…and for a long time I was determined to get a tattoo of a diamond with the belief that it would represent profundity when in reality it would probably make people think the complete opposite.

2. Salt

Yes, this happened. I really thought ‘salt’ would be an amazing word to have tattooed to my skin. Don’t ask why, don’t ask when – it is probably the most stupid idea I have ever had in my life.

3. Iyali

Iyali is the word for ‘family’ in my mothers language. It’s a sentimental idea that doesn’t really make sense when you consider that my parents do not like tattoos and have never really approved of my desire to have them.

4. Capricorn constellation

I may as well get a southern cross tattoo and be done with it…

5.  Letters to represent countries I have visited

Unlike normal people who get iron-on patches I thought it would be amazing to get letters representing countries I have travelled to. Aside from the annoyance of having to get a tattoo every time I travel, this idea is also ridiculous when you take into account the amount of travelling I have done and plan to do. If I were to do this I would already have a tattoo half the length of my forearm and it wouldn’t exactly be a great tattoo either.

Thankfully the two tattoos I did eventually commit to I still like and I can’t see that changing any time soon.

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

