Colour crush

Ridiculous dancing, that works.

One song that made me go a little gaga in 2012 was Solange Knowles’ Losing You. I became a bit obsessed with Solange after she dropped the weaves and decided to rock her natural hair.

After seeing her rock a little Afro on one of the various blogs I follow I got my creep on and googled the crap out of her style and found myself suddenly searching amongst clothes racks and online for bright ankara style prints and African inspired designs.

Aside from knowing I’m part Nigerian, I know very little about my heritage and Solange inspired me to embrace it in a big way.

Since then I’ve asked my mum more about her home country, I’ve tried to cook Nigerian food and have  awkwardly pronounced a few words in Igbo. I feel like my attempts have been a little superficial and I can’t help but feel a bit sheepish when I bust out my earrings made from ankara fabric in the shape of Africa but in learning more about my mum and her culture I feel like I’m learning more about myself.

 

solange-knowles-losing-you-video-capetown-south-africa-5

Colours that pop.

 

Proof that throwing a whole heap of random patterns together can work.

Proof that throwing a whole heap of random patterns together can work.

 

This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

