I take the long road home tonight…this title doesn’t make sense.

Last week I had a little time out from my crazy schedule. I found myself strolling down the lane ways of Melbourne, one thing progressed to another and suddenly I was at the counter buying the record of a local Melbourne band called Saskwatch.

Now some people might call me biased, because I actually know a few of the peeps in this band – but it is a hell of a good album. I’m probably a little too poor right now to be spending my dollars on music, but I couldn’t resist, and I think it’s one of the better decisions I’ve made this month.

It was a crazy beautiful day, seriously the sun was shining, birds really were singing and I was down to just a singlet and pants (I haven’t gone outside in just a singlet in Australia for about five months!). When I got home, I flung open all of the doors and busted out my record player. It took a bit of tinkering but I finally managed to get the sound to feed through and then I proceeded to spend the next forty minutes dancing around the lounge room to some mighty fine funk.

It was meant to be a study day, but that really didn’t happen. I basically just lounged around the house for the next four hours, weeded my record collection and occasionally glanced at the list of assessments yet to be completed (10- yikes!).

So right now I’m feeling a little sorry for myself. I’m sitting at home churning through pages and pages of information on fracking and coal seam gas exploration. After that, I have to write up a report on the East Australian Current. Ohhhh, very exciting.

I guess I should get back to it! Tomorrow is going to be crazy busy, one assessment in the morning and another due in the afternoon…and then back to this coal seam gas report.

I also just applied for a library position in Darwin – fingers crossed!

x L

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

