Dreaming of other places.

Lately I’ve been getting these little bursts of excitement, which just seem to suddenly bubble to the surface, simmer for about half an hour and then dissipate.

It happens when I think about my travel plans for next year and how I will definitely be overseas again in less than five months, and will most likely be making two other trips within the next twelve months.

So far it’s looking like I am going to traveling to Borneo, Thailand and the States next year. Hopefully my $16/hour wage can support my slightly extravagant lifestyle.  Don’t get me wrong though, I’ll definitely be traveling on a shoestring.

At the moment, my work-life balance is completely out of whack. I get texts on a sometimes daily basis from my casual job, asking me to work weekends and even nights. It’s pretty hectic, and I’m darn tired but I also can’t turn down the opportunity to put money towards my travel fund.

Next year is going to be big for me! The other trainee is finishing up at the library next week, and I’m slightly nervous. Once Matt leaves, I’ll be the only trainee in the building (i.e. the shit-kicker) and I’m a little nervous about this. I have this crazy complex going on in my head, where even though I know I am completely capable of doing tasks I almost psych myself into believing that I am not. But at the end of the day, I have to tell myself that if another person can do it, I can too and any task they throw at me, I’ll handle it. 

So yes, work-life balance. I am KILLING my social life. This last weekend I decided to be a bit more sociable and caught up with a lot of people I don’t get to see nearly enough. I went to a few parties, had a few beers and whiskys and played flip-cup for the first time. I feel like such a rookie when it comes to drinking games! Come Monday, I was so tired that one of my co-workers asked if I was okay. But it was worth it.

I haven’t been as dedicated to my gym routine this week, I’m going to try and go at least four times next week to make up for it.

I really am writing quite mundane things right now…..

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

